Postal Employee Salaries & Benefits

The U.S. Postal Service which employs over 800,000 employees all over the country is comprised of Corporate headquarters, located in Washington, DC, Headquarters Field Units, and 10 area offices that have eighty-five districts.

Individuals are employed as craft/bargaining unit employees and non-bargaining unit employees. Such craft/bargaining employes are clerks, carriers, mail processors, mail handlers, mark-up clerks, and flat-sorting machine operators. Non-bargaining unit employees may include computer programmers, nurses, accountants, and information specialists.

There are four types of positions in the U.S. Postal Service. That is, employes or workers are known as follows:
  1. Full-Time Regular: 
  2. Part-Time Flexible
  3. Part-Time Regular
  4. Casual

Full-Time Regulars are permanent employees who are guaranteed 40 hours a-week work. They have holidays’ pay (even without working), and they are given full benefits as full-time federal employees. They are sometimes called “permanent” employees.

Part-Time Flexibles are career-appointed employees. However, they are not guaranteed 40 hours a week; that is, they can work only for 30 to 40 hours a week depending on where they work. They are, however, employees who receive full benefits. In other works, after working for four hours, they can be sent home if there’s no more work to be done. All postal workers start as flexibles; that is, their time is flexible. They may be assigned from one shift to another as the need arises. They usually work overtime during the Christmas season.

Part-Time Regulars. They may be considered as “regular” part-timers. They are similar in some ways to “flexible” employees, but they are work on a set schedule.

Casuals. They are temporary employees who work mostly during the Christmas season, which may last only for a few weeks. Their pay is less than the other Postal Workers’. Like the Part-Time Regulars and the Part-Time Flexibles, they are paid per hour.

The Postal salary system consists of several pay schedules. They are the Postal Service (PS) for bargaining-unit employees and the Executive and Administrative Schedule (EAS) for non-bargaining-unit employees. The pay period for employees begins on Saturday and covers a two-week period ending on Friday. Postal employees are paid every two weeks following the end of the pay period.

The U.S. Postal Service offers excellent benefits. Such benefits include life and health insurance, retirement plan, savings and investment plan with employer contribution, and annual and sick leaves

« Prev Post